The Greater Bay Area Cancer Registry (GBACR), gathers information about all cancers diagnosed or treated in a nine-county area:

  1. Alameda
  2. Contra Costa
  3. Marin
  4. Monterey
  5. San Benito
  6. San Francisco
  7. San Mateo
  8. Santa Clara
  9. Santa Cruz

Data from the GBACR have contributed to the National Cancer Institute's Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Results (SEER) program and the statewide California Cancer Registry (CCR) which conducts essential monitoring of cancer occurrence and survival in California.


National Cancer Registrars Week April 5-9, 2021

New GBACR dashboard now available

California Health Maps website provides data beyond county level

Job openings:

Greater Bay Area Cancer Registry Dashboard

According to California Department of Public Health guidelines, cancer incidence rates cannot be reported if based on less than 15 cancer cases and/or a population of less than 10,000 to ensure confidentiality and stable statistical rates.